EPF 2016 – The Winners


The Emerging Photographer Fund 2016


Makeup disguises Maria's fractured eye as she prepares to board a train home to Oregon from Williston, North Dakota. Maria moved to Wiliston less than a month prior to seek work in America's Boomtown.  Since the oil boom took off in 2009, domestic violence has quadrupled in Williston, North Dakota.  (Williston, North Dakota / February 2014)

Annie Flanagan

Deafening Sound

EPF 2016 WINNER – $10,000

Deafening Sound examines the deep roots of gendered violence and rape culture in American society. Presently, it combines three documentary projects, a portrait series and a collection of artifacts. It is structured so that each chapter examines different ways systematic gendered violence persists in America. It aims to reduce the stigma of gendered violence, address the complicated cycle of abuse and elevate consciousness about the prevalence of rape culture.




The EPF FujiFilm/Young Talent Award 2016



Aleksander Raczynski


FUJIFILM/YOUNG TALENT AWARD 2016 WINNER – $5,000 + FujiFilm camera





Sara Zanella – FujiFilm camera

Amr Dabees – FujiFilm camera

Drew Nikonowicz – FujiFilm camera

Bradley Pearce – FujiFilm camera





(in alphabetical order)

Aji Susanto Anom
Giovanni Cocco
Loulou d’Aki
Laura El Tantawy
Annie Flanagan
Dominika Gesicka
Amnon Gutman





(in alphabetical order)

Amr Dabees
Igor Elukov
Drew Nikonowicz
Bradley Pearce
Aleksander Raczynski
Micha Siarek
Sara Zanella



The full essays of the winners and finalists will be published here on BURN over the next few weeks,
as well as a selection of the shortlisted essays. Stay tuned!






(in alphabetical order)

Monica Allende | Photo Editor & Cultural Producer, Screen

Enrico Bossan | Editorial Director, Fabrica

Yumi Goto | Curator, Reminders Photography Stronghold

Jacob Aue Sobol | Photographer, Magnum

Maggie Steber | Photographer, National Geographic



Judges’ statement:


In her project, Annie Flanagan addresses the ages-old tragedy of domestic abuse and rape in a manner that brings her subjects onto a contemporary stage with an updated photographic style and point of view. Her choice of subjects and visual approach make a bold statement in focusing on this continuing war on women from the beginning of time. The work is subtle but powerful. Particularly because this is an ongoing issue that in some societies is on the rise, it is important to find a way to speak to new generations with new kinds of images. In approaching her project in chapters, she manages to focus but also produce a broader brushstroke of ideas. We want to mention the photographer’s project text was well-done, articulate, informative and set the stage for her photographs.


In Aleksander Raczynski’s project he casts himself as the main character in a play in search of something, someone who feels a full tilt of emotions and reactions to what he sees and photographs and who he meets. His long series of photographs taken in many different places help him, he says, to understand the world and thus himself. He wanders, with no particular idea in mind, his life and photography a constant confrontation with his emotions. They jettison him closer to his own soul. In his words: “I find it very helpful as what scares me the most is the lack of emotions in life.” Aleksander’s photographs look like memories of one place or another, a memory that might be drawn from childhood, a place where something happened to him, odd and familiar scenes and moments that act as his visual autobiography.



Previous EPF Winners


The 2008 Emerging Photographer Fund grant was awarded to
Sean Gallagher for his essay on the environmental Desertification of China.

The 2009 Emerging Photographer Fund grant was awarded to
Alejandro Chaskielberg for his 8×10 format essay on the Parana River Delta ‘The High Tide’.

The 2010 Emerging Photographer Fund grant was awarded to
Davide Monteleone for his essay ‘Northern Caucasus’.

The 2011 Emerging Photographer Fund grant was awarded to
Irina Werning for her essay ‘Back to the Future’.

In 2012 three Emerging Photographer Fund grants were awarded:
one major to Matt Lutton for his essay ‘Only Unity’ and
two minors to Giovanni Cocco for his essay ‘Monia’ and to Simona Ghizzoni for her essay ‘Afterdark’.

In 2013 four Emerging Photographer Fund grants were awarded:
one major to Diana Markosian for her essay ‘My Father The Stranger’ and
three minors to: Iveta Vaivode for her essay ‘Somewhere on Disappearing Path’,
Oksana Yushko for her essay ‘Balklava: The Lost History’ and
Maciej Pisuk for his essay ‘Under The Skin; Photographs From Brzeska Street’.

In 2014 two Emerging Photographer Fund grants were awarded:
one major to Alessandro Penso for his essay ‘Lost Generation’ and
one minor to: Birte Kaufmann for her essay ‘The Travelers’.

In 2015 the Emerging Photographer Fund was awarded to Danila Tkachenko for ‘Restricted Areas’, and
the FujiFil Young Talent Award to Sofia Valiente for ‘Miracle Village’.



Editor’s note:


I cannot express my thanks enough to Maggie, Monica, Yumi, Jacob and Ernesto. They worked together to finely tune their choices, looked at the finalists from every angle and awarded the EPF grants to the photographers they felt most deserving. Of course, once it got down to the finalists, choices became extremely difficult, but that is a given… and they did an admirable job. Thank you.


A heart felt thank you also to Fujifilm for making it possible for the EPF to keep focus on the future generations, the young ones, the ones with a vision already making a mark now… and just might make another jump soon…




Burn Magazine revolves around the EPF. Our most important curatorial contribution
to the oftentimes chaotic landscape of photography today. By choosing a jury whose lifetimes have been spent in looking
at photographs and making photographs, we try to give our Burn readers a distilled version of the best work of all that
flows before their eyes everyday.


Most importantly our mission is to give recognition to the finest emerging authors out there and to provide some funding to at least
a few to keep going and to continue making a mark. Our previous winners prove this is not in vain.


Many thanks especially to my EPF Burn team of Anton Kusters, Diego Orlando, and Francesca Gennari.
First off , they must deal with me!! Never easy. In all seriousness, they all show amazing dedication to the spirit of
doing something which just feels good. To provide a platform for the up and coming.


Special thanks to Susan Meiselas of the Magnum Foundation. Nobody on the planet is more dedicated to allowing new talent to develop.
Special thanks also to Michael Loyd Young, EPF funder and BURN Magazine board member.



The Emerging Photographer Fund was created and is directed by David Alan Harvey,
and curated by Anton Kusters & Diego Orlando.


3 Responses to “EPF 2016 – The Winners”

Comments are currently closed.