emerging photographer fund







Danila Tkachenko, winner – $10,000

Aaron Vincent Elkaim, honorable mention





Sofia Valiente, winner – $5,000 + FujiFilm camera

Mu Yang, runner up – FujiFilm camera

Aaron Canipe, runner up – FujiFilm camera

Joshua Irwandi, runner up – FujiFilm camera

Nicolas Enriquez, runner up – FujiFilm camera





(in alphabetical order)
Javier Arcenillas
Marta Berens
Annie Flanagan
Alvaro Laiz
Sebastian Liste
Paolo Marchetti
Alexander Mendelevich
Metrography (collective)
Emanuele Occhipinti
Raffaele Petralla
Joao Pina
Pablo Piovano
Sarker Protick
Aaron Vincent Elkaim*
Danila Tkachenko**





(in alphabetical order)
Aaron Canipe*
Nicolas Enriquez*
Erin Geideman
Joshua Irwandi*
Acacia Johnson
Mariah Leal Paes
David Molina
Charles Roux
Sofia Valiente**
Mu Yang*





(in alphabetical order)

Bieke Depoorter | Photographer, Magnum

Jim Estrin | Editor, New York Times LENS blog

W.M. Hunt | Collector, Curator, Consultant

Evelien Kunst | Director, NOOR Images

Michael “Nick” Nichols | Photographer, Editor at Large, National Geographic



Previous EPF Winners


The 2008 Emerging Photographer Fund grant was awarded to
Sean Gallagher for his essay on the environmental Desertification of China.

The 2009 Emerging Photographer Fund grant was awarded to
Alejandro Chaskielberg for his 8×10 format essay on the Parana River Delta ‘The High Tide’.

The 2010 Emerging Photographer Fund grant was awarded to
Davide Monteleone for his essay ‘Northern Caucasus’.

The 2011 Emerging Photographer Fund grant was awarded to
Irina Werning for her essay ‘Back to the Future’.

In 2012 three Emerging Photographer Fund grants were awarded:
one major to Matt Lutton for his essay ‘Only Unity’ and
two minors to Giovanni Cocco for his essay ‘Monia’ and to Simona Ghizzoni for her essay ‘Afterdark’.

In 2013 four Emerging Photographer Fund grants were awarded:
one major to Diana Markosian for her essay ‘My Father The Stranger’ and
three minors to: Iveta Vaivode for her essay ‘Somewhere on Disappearing Path’,
Oksana Yushko for her essay ‘Balklava: The Lost History’ and
Maciej Pisuk for his essay ‘Under The Skin; Photographs From Brzeska Street’.

In 2014 two Emerging Photographer Fund grants were awarded:
one major to Alessandro Penso for his essay ‘Lost Generation’ and
one minor to: Birte Kaufmann for her essay ‘The Travelers’.



Editor’s note:


I cannot express my thanks enough to Bieke, Evelien, Jim, Bill and Nick. This very fine EPF jury worked collectively so hard and so thoroughly to finely tune their choices… They thought this through very carefully from every angle to award this grant to the photographers most deserving. Of course once it gets down to the finalists, the choices become extremely difficult. This is where they really went to work. Lots of back and forth discussion and yet consensus reached.


A heart felt thank you also to FujiFilm for making it possible for the EPF to keep focus on the future generations, the young ones, the ones with a vision already making a mark now… and just might make another jump soon…




Burn Magazine revolves around the EPF. Our most important curatorial contribution
to the oftentimes chaotic landscape of photography today. By choosing a jury whose lifetimes have been spent in looking
at photographs and making photographs, we try to give our Burn readers a distilled version of the best work of all that
flows before their eyes everyday.


Most importantly our mission is to give recognition to the finest emerging authors out there and to provide some funding to at least
a few to keep going and to continue making a mark. Our previous winners prove this is not in vain.


Many thanks especially to my EPF Burn team of Anton Kusters, Diego Orlando, and Kaya Berne.
First off , they must deal with me!! Never easy. In all seriousness, they all show amazing dedication to the spirit of
doing something which just feels good. To provide a platform for the up and coming.


Special thanks to Susan Meiselas of the Magnum Foundation. Nobody on the planet is more dedicated to allowing new talent to develop.



The Emerging Photographer Fund was created and is directed by David Alan Harvey,
and curated by Anton Kusters & Diego Orlando, with Kaya Lee Berne.